Home  -  Back Issues  -  The Team  Contact Us
Linking Young Minds Together
     Volume 2 Issue 44| November 14, 2010 |


   News Room
   News Snap

   Star Campus     Home


Award for Young Thinker's held at East West University

The prize giving ceremony of the Essay Writing Competition for Young Thinkers-2010 was held at the EWU auditorium on October 29.

Professor Dr. Muzzafar Ahmed, noted educationist and former chairman of TIB was present as the chief guest on this occasion while Professor Siddiqua Kabir nutritionist and TV personality was present as the special guest in this programme. In his speech, Dr. Muzzafar Ahmed, reiterated that the children are the future of our nation, and therefore it is our duty to nurture their mental and physical growth in a positive way.

Dr. Mohammed Farashuddin, President, Board of Trustees and Founder Vice Chancellor, East West University presided over the function. Prof. Dr Humayun Kabir Choudhury, Coordinator Student Welfare Activities and Mr. Kamrul Hasan, Assistant Professor, BBA, also spoke on the occasion. Mr. SSM Sadrul Huda, Assistant Professor and Moderator, EWU-ESC coordinated this programme.

The competition was held in three groups. Group A- was for the students up to class three, Group B- for class four to six, and Group C- for the students of class seven to ten. The theme of the competition was social issues affecting the lives of children.

There were top three prizes, 16 special prizes and all participants got consolation prizes. The prize money for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions were respectively Tk 5000, Tk 3000 and Tk 2000. PRAN and Tasmery participated in the event to encourage the participants. Channel I and web Radio Gungun were the media partner.

The 1st, 2nd & 3rd winners from group 'A' were Mirza Sharin Pasha Saba, Zarin Rafa, and Montaha Islam respectively. The 1st, 2nd & 3rd winners from group 'B' were Ananata Annesha, Tonima Islam, and Mebahul Islam(jointly 2nd), Sani Barua and Shanur Maksuda (jointly 3rd) respectively. The 1st, 2nd & 3rd winners from group 'C' were Naim Hossain Afif, Shehrin Tabar Onnonna and Bibi Fatema Tuni respectively.

The winners of the special prize from group A were Syeda Aida Mowla, Syeda Madiha Mowla, Kamrul Hassan Siddique, Fahmida Islam Kanta, Mossammat Salma Akhtar and winners from group B were Kaswa Nur Khaza, Taushikul Islam Zian, Md. Shadman Shian Sam,mo, Alif Amirat and Md. Shariful Islam (joy) and the winners from group c were Semonti Hassan, mania Akhtar, Sanjida Iasmeen promi,, Nanjeeba Ibnat, Safat Aktar and Sharia Alam Shompa.

Caption: Professor Dr. Muzzafar Ahmed, noted educationist and former chairman of TIB delivering speech as the chief guest in a prize-giving ceremony of an essay competition at East West University yesterday.



Copyright (R) thedailystar.net 2010